idUnited


idUnited. a brief history
October 15, 2006, 11:40 pm
Filed under: News

idwhite.jpg

The following is a brief history about how idUnited got started. you don’t have to read it,.. just wanted to keep record.

idUnited has been in the making for over 18months. Getting started and getting dropped time and time again. It was registered as an LLC in June of 2005. ( right after me and two friends unsucessfully tried to aquire an established clothing company here in Detroit) Afterword we split ways and I decided to set out on my own. (Did I mention I had zero experience?.. it was a mistake looking back,.. but stuff happens for a reason) 

I originally set out to be just a t-shirt, hoodies and hats company. With the basic philosophy that is still with the company today:

1>  connect/unite individuals to a cause through ideas and design.

2 > raise money and awareness for non-profits.

It was going to be open sourced like threadless,.. and i’d also commission artists to design. All styles were to be limited to 1,111 copies. 1,111 for guys <> 1,111 for girls. And 11% of profits were going to go toward 3 non-profits: Wateraid. Room to Read. And FutureForests (which is actually a for profit and is now called The Carbon Neutral Company).

I don’t know why,.. but something just wasn’t right,.. in my mind at least. I just couldn’t  get idUnited off the ground. Was I seriously going to try and make the world a better place by selling t-shirts?  Long story short,… I (kinda) quit.

The thing is,.. deep down,.. I really believed in the idea. Not a day would pass that I couldn’t stop thinking about all of its potential. For the longest time I researched and looked into a ton of different opportunities and I just couldn’t seem to find anything that made me passionate like this does. So after 18 months of learning, discovering, researching, new experiences, questions, volunteering and meeting new people,.. I feel the time is right to go for it again. There’s a few things that I changed up this time,.. And I think it’s all for the better. It may not be perfect,.. but that’s the fun part right?  The point is,..  just do it and see what happens.  I personally can’t wait,…  hope you stick around for the ride.

Real quick I have to go back to the story to mention something. See when I first set out to start idUnited,.. I started a blog just like this on typepad. I think the only person reading it back then was my mom ;) But one day I wrote about a Manifesto that I had read on ChangeThis. It was written by DK of Phatgnat. Man this thing inspired me beyond words and was one of the best things I’ve read till this day. Reading DK’s manifesto entitled “The Youth of Today” showed me that I wasn’t the only one thinking about the world in a new/different way. There’s a whole generation of individuals who feel real strongly about a lot of the same issues I do. DK saw that I had wrote about his manifesto on my blog and thanked me,.. He also wanted to know more about what I was up to. I told him the philosophy of idUnited and what I was trying to do and he loved it. We immediately started a dialogue from that point on. And I’ve bugged the crap out of him ever since!  The dude has probably read over 100 e-mails from me,.. asking him for his opinion on everything for idUnited.  What if i do this? What If I do that? Do you think this will work? How about this way instead? The amazing thing is,.. he’s responded to every single e-mail. If it wasn’t for DK,.. the (kinda) quit would have just been quit.

DK > Thanks for being patient, helpful and professional with me. You’ve been a big inspiration and you’ve helped me a ton,.. your time and effort has been invaluable to me,.. it’s been unreal. Infinite thanks.

Well,..  so now that you know where idUnited came from,.. I’m guessing you want to know where it’s going right?… good question. You’re going to have to watch this space in the coming weeks and months to see our efforts unfold. So come visit the idUnited blog for updates and for the latest and greatest in the world of ‘Conscience Consumer Capitalism.’

In the meantime if you have any questions don’t be shy to drop me a line over at hello@idUnited.com or visit us on our www.myspace.com/idUnited page.

Best,

_Nev

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

*smiles and warm feelings*

Something for when you think about quiting (they will come again and again and again my friend…):

roll the dice

if you’re going to try, go all the
way.
otherwise, don’t even start.
if you’re going to try, go all the
way.
this could mean losing girlfriends,
wives, relatives, jobs and
maybe your mind.
go all the way.
it could mean not eating for 3 or 4 days.
it could mean freezing on a
park bench.
it could mean jail,
it could mean derision,
mockery,
isolation.
isolation is the gift,
all the others are a test of your
endurance, of
how much you really want to
do it.
and you’ll do it
despite rejection and the worst odds
and it will be better than
anything else
you can imagine.
if you’re going to try,
go all the way.
there is no other feeling like
that.
you will be alone with the gods
and the nights will flame with
fire.
do it, do it, do it.
do it.
all the way
all the way.
you will ride life straight to
perfect laughter, its
the only good fight
there is.

Charles Bukowski

Comment by DK




Leave a Reply

